Quick Facts

“Teachers affect eternity, no one can tell where their influence stops.” Henry Adams

The National Teachers Hall of Fame (NTHF), located in Emporia, Kansas, was founded in 1989 by Emporia State University, the ESU Alumni Association, the City of Emporia, USD 253, and the Emporia Area Chamber of Commerce as a tribute to our nation’s most important profession – – teaching. The Hall of Fame is committed to drawing the public’s attention to exceptional PreK-12 teachers through a museum, teacher resource center, and recognition program which honors five of the nation’s most outstanding PreK-12 educators each year.

The NTHF is the only facility of its kind dedicated to recognizing career teachers, to preserving and promoting education, and to serving our country by inspiring others to enter the teaching profession.

A National Selection Committee representing educational organizations, NTHF membership, and corporate America consider nominations from a pool of certified public or non-public teachers, active or retired, who have at least 20 years of full-time experience teaching in grades PreK-12. Induction activities occur annually in Emporia, Kansas, and Washington D.C.

The first induction was held in June of 1992. Currently there are teachers from 37 states and the District of Columbia inducted into The National Teachers Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame has been endorsed by practically every national education organization and commended by President Bill Clinton in a 1993 White House Rose Garden ceremony.

“At the heart of a democracy is its educational system, and in the heart of America is The National Teachers Hall of Fame.”

As a 501(c)(3) organization, the Hall of Fame seeks private, financial support and encourages organizations and individuals to join and support us in our effort to bring Hall of Fame recognition to members of the most important profession in the country. The Hall of Fame has been fortunate to receive philanthropic support from educational organizations, corporations, businesses, foundations, and individuals. Philanthropy has been a critical element in the growth of the NTHF.

Located on the Emporia State University campus, the Hall of Fame includes a gallery of honored teachers, a Wall of Fame, and a a display of classroom miniatures through the centuries. A gift shop also is available. The Hall of Fame is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and closed holidays.